top of page

Jaguar XK 140 Drop Head Coupe

FACTS

I 1954 - 1957 I

CONSTRUCTION YEAR

Malcolm Sayer

DESIGNERS

6 cylinders

219 hp

3,400 cc

ENGINE

479

NUMBER OF PIECES

1957

IMG_8526.jpg

STORY

The Jaguar XK 140 DHC (Drophead Coupe) was a sports car manufactured by the British car manufacturer Jaguar. The XK 140 was introduced as the successor to the successful XK 120 and was in production from 1954 to 1957. The DHC was the convertible version of the XK 140, while there was also a Fixed-Head Coupe (FHC) version.

The Jaguar XK 140 was first presented at the London Motor Show in October 1954

The interior of the XK 140 was made more spacious, which improved driving comfort. The dashboard was redesigned and there was more space for the driver and passenger.

Production of the Jaguar XK 140 lasted from 1954 to 1957. A total of around 3,300 XK 140 DHC units were produced during this period.

The Jaguar XK 140 DHC is now a sought-after collector's item and is prized by classic sports car enthusiasts. Its elegant design, powerful engine and advances over the XK 120 make it an important chapter in the history of the British sports car industry.

PERSONAL STORY

In January 1997, the former owner purchased this Jaguar in Belgium. The Belgian had already purchased the XK in June 1992 in the USA from the owner there, who had owned the Drophead Coupé since November 1965.
According to the Heritage Trust Certificate, the XK140 was delivered to Jaguar Cars New York in November 1956.

The factory documents confirm the special equipment as well as the still installed engine with the number S89798S, as well as the paintwork in Carmen Red.

As an active rally participant, the XK140 was naturally modified somewhat. It was fitted with a stainless steel exhaust with increased flow, a dual-circuit braking system with disc brakes on the front axle, a radiator with a high-performance network, a contactless Mallory ignition system, GAZ dampers all around and a Getrag 5-speed gearbox.

A dream in red that once made the streets of New York unsafe in the 90s.

bottom of page

top of page

Jaguar XK 140 Drop Head Coupe

FAKTEN

I 1954 - 1957 I

BAUJAHR

Malcolm Sayer

DESIGNER

6 Zylinder

219 PS

3.400 ccm

MOTOR

479

STÜCKZAHL

1957

IMG_8526.jpg

GESCHICHTE

Der Jaguar XK 140 DHC (Drophead Coupe) war ein Sportwagen, der von der britischen Automarke Jaguar hergestellt wurde. Der XK 140 wurde als Nachfolger des erfolgreichen XK 120 eingeführt und war von 1954 bis 1957 in Produktion. Der DHC war die Cabriolet-Version des XK 140, während es auch eine Fixed-Head Coupe (FHC) Version gab.

Der Jaguar XK 140 wurde erstmals auf der London Motor Show im Oktober 1954 vorgestellt

Der Innenraum des XK 140 wurde geräumiger gestaltet, was den Fahrkomfort verbesserte. Das Armaturenbrett wurde überarbeitet, und es gab mehr Platz für Fahrer und Beifahrer.

Die Produktion des Jaguar XK 140 erstreckte sich von 1954 bis 1957. Insgesamt wurden während dieser Zeit etwa 3.300 XK 140 DHC-Einheiten hergestellt.

Der Jaguar XK 140 DHC ist heute ein begehrtes Sammlerstück und wird von Liebhabern klassischer Sportwagen geschätzt. Sein elegantes Design, die leistungsstarke Motorisierung und die Fortschritte gegenüber dem XK 120 machen ihn zu einem wichtigen Kapitel in der Geschichte der britischen Sportwagenindustrie.

PERSÖNLICHE GESCHICHTE

Im Jänner 1997 erwarb der ehemalige Eigentümer diesen Jaguar in Belgien. Der Belgier erwarb den XK bereits im Juni 1992 in den USA vom dortigen Halter, der das Drophead Coupé seit November 1965 besessen hatte.
Laut Heritage Trust Certificate war der XK140 im November 1956 zu Jaguar Cars New York geliefert worden.

Die Werksunterlagen bestätigen die Special-Equipment-Ausstattung sowie den noch immer verbauten Motor mit der Nummer S89798S, genauso wie die Lackierung in Carmen Red.

Als aktiver Rallye-Teilnehmer wurde der XK140 natürlich auch etwas modifiziert. So gab es einen Edelstahl-Auspuff mit erhöhtem Durchsatz, ein Zweikreis-Bremssystem mit Scheibenbremsen an der Vorderachse, einen Kühler mit Hochleistungsnetz, eine kontaktlose Mallory-Zündanlage, GAZ-Dämpfer rundum und ein Getrag-5-Gang-Getriebe.

Ein Traum in rot der einst die Straßen in New York in den 90er Jahren unsicher machte.

bottom of page